Cleanse/Detox / Nutrition

21-Day Sugar Detox Revisited

Halloween and Thanksgiving can really throw a wrench in a good diet. Actually, aren’t all holidays in the U.S. centered around food? Oh right, they all are! We remind ourselves each and every year that this time around we’ll behave ourselves. We’re only going to have a few bites of the appetizers so we’re still hungry for the main course and then we’ll walk away from the table having finished our meal satisfied, but not stuffed to the brink of exploding. And dessert? What dessert? I didn’t see pie. That thing right there was just a cute decoration from HomeGoods.

OK, so what really happened? Well, that plan of mine backfired. Now, I’m left feeling like a lazy sloth – heavy, lethargic, and guilty. I feel like a hypocrite – I write about eating well, being mindful, and when I’m put in a situation that is the ultimate test of self-control, I fail. I detest failure, but once again, lesson learned. Now it’s time to get back up again and try again.

Here’s to another 21-days of sugar detoxing to cleanse my body (and my head). This plan I can stick to! So ladies (and gentlemen), if that kick ass dress of yours that you’re dying to wear to that Holiday party in December looks better on the hanger than it does on you or if you’re too frightened to even try it on, give this a try! It’s only three weeks! Why not jump start those New Years resolutions of yours right now?!

Here’s a bit of a refresher: What do I avoid on this detox?

  • No sugar. PERIOD. This means natural and unnatural (i.e. maple syrup, honey, agave, stevia, sucrose, aspartame, etc.)
  • No Grains (i.e. Wheat, Rice, Quinoa, Corn, etc) or Legumes (i.e. Beans, Soy, Peanuts)
  • No Fruits of any kind
  • No Vegetables high on the glycemic index (i.e. white potatoes)
  • No Refined Carbohydrates (i.e. bread, cakes, pasta, chips, ect.)
  • No Dairy
  • No alcohol
  • No man-made saturated fats (i.e.margarine, hydrogenated or partially hydrogenated oils) and unsaturated fats, which are highly processed and oxidize easily, and contain high amounts of omega-6 fatty acids (i.e. canola, corn, soybean, etc)

Instead of feeling deprived I have to think about “crowding out” the restricted foods with the foods I can eat. More vegetables and protein in, less junk out!

This time around I’m going to give you more frequent updates. Hold me accountable people!! I’ll even do some measurements, but you’ll have to wait ’til the end for those.

For more information about the 21-Day Sugar Detox click here!

Leave a comment